Green Connexion and the celebration of the International day for Biological Diversity 2018 : Like a ripe fruit ?

Green Connexion and the celebration of the International day for Biological Diversity 2018 : Like a ripe fruit ?

Green Connexion, it’s like a child: Very enthusiastic … Nevertheless, on the road, it knows it can count on the adults, the elders.

May & Nukia, young students at University of Yaoundé I, during the celebration of the International day of Biological diversity the 22 Mai 2018. @greenconnexion photos. 2018.

25 years old this year. Already ? – Would ask some. 25 years, it’s far. It’s like the distance from here to Rio de Janeiro, and Green Connexion was not born yet. Grown up with its history, no need to go across the wall of time.

Since 2013, Green Connexion has remained well connected with the celebration of the International day of Biological Diversity, sometime alone, but more often with the company of the elders (Ministry of Environment, IUCN, Nachtigal Hydropower Company, WWF, CIFOR and I am forgetting).

The Green Connexion team, during a protest march the 22 may 2013 in Yaoundé. @greenconnexion photos. 2013.

2013, when Green Connexion, almost juvenile, was then learning the basics of the art of conservation, was playing drums on the streets of Yaoundé to be heard, jostled habits in the Cameroon hydropower dams, very enthusiastic in fact. It was five years ago. Still!

The relationship between Green Connexion and the International day for Biological Diversity, whose theme in this year 2018 was  “Celebrating 25 Years of Action for Biodiversity” was first emotional, then nostalgic. This theme was enriched by the human greatness, by its universal aspirations, its hopes, its expectations and its enthusiasms, but also by its pettiness, its gravities, its flippancies as well as its laxness. Green Connexion was surely not alone to be totally identified in this theme.

The Green Connexion team posing with the Director and some staff members of WWF – Cameroon. @WWF website 2018.

On the 22 may 2018, more than a fifty of the Green Connexion members have been mobilized to go celebrate in the elder’s house, to meet with them, share their experience on biodiversity and discuss about the future of the world. The CIFOR (Center for International Forestry Research) and WWF (World Wildlife Fund) did them the honour. And the party was beautiful and friendly.

The Green Connexion team, posing with the staff members of CIFOR. @greenconnexion photos. 2018.

On the 23 and 24 May 2018, during the delayed celebration of the International Biodiversity Day organized by the Cameroonian Ministry of Environment and Nature Conservation, Green Connexion had the honour to share publicly the stand with IUCN.  In fact, IUCN had chosen Green Connexion as the organization member, model of the close collaboration that it entertains with its members.

Finally, Green Connexion and the International day for Biological Diversity 2018: Like a ripe fruit? That no! Rather like a ripening fruit.

Joint team IUCN-Green Connexion posing in front of their joint stand (Yaoundé 23 May 2018).
From Left to right : Eugène Messina (Station manager Radio Environnement, IUCN) , Suzanne Kamgue (Head of stand-IUCN) ; Mireil Tchoupou Votio (Green Connexion) ; Forbi Preacious Awin (Green Connexion) and Ghogue Jean-Paul (Director – Green Connexion). Photo@UICN photos. 2018

By Jean-Paul Ghogue

Director – Green Connexion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

@Green Connexion 2018.


Download This Content :Green Connexion and the celebration of the International day for Biological Diversity 2018 : Like a ripe fruit ?

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply

Green Connexion et la célébration de la journée internationale de la biodiversité 2018 : Comme un fruit mûre ?

Green Connexion et la célébration de la journée internationale de la biodiversité 2018 : Comme un fruit mûre ?

Green Connexion, c’est comme un enfant : Très enthousiaste… N’empêche. Sur la route, il sait pouvoir compter sur le regard des adultes, des anciens.

May & Nukia, jeunes étudiants à l’université de Yaoundé I, lors de la célébration de la journée internationale de la biodiversité le 22 Mai 2018. @greenconnexion photos. 2018.

25 ans cette année. Déjà ? – Demanderaient quelques-uns. 25 ans, c’est loin. C’est comme la distance d’ici à Rio de Janeiro, et Green Connexion n’était déjà pas né. Grandi avec son histoire, point besoin de franchir le mur du temps.

Depuis 2013, Green Connexion est resté bien solidaire à la célébration de la Journée Internationale de la Biodiversité, seul quelque fois, mais plus souvent avec la compagnie des anciens (Ministère de l’Environnement, UICN, Nachtigal Hydro Power Company, WWF, CIFOR et j’en oublie).

L’équipe de Green Connexion, lors d’une marche de protestation le 22 mai 2013 à Yaoundé. @greenconnexion photos. 2013.

2013, quand Green Connexion, presque juvénile, apprenait encore les rudiments de cet art qu’est la conservation, battait des tambours sur les rues de Yaoundé pour se faire entendre, bousculait les habitudes dans les barrages hydro-électriques du Cameroun, très enthousiaste donc. C’était il y a 5 ans. Quand même !

La relation entre Green Connexion et la Journée Internationale de la Biodiversité donc le thème en cette année 2018 était “25 ans d’actions pour la biodiversité” est d’abord émotionnelle, puis nostalgique.  Ce thème s’enrichie de la grandeur humaine, de ses aspirations universelles, ses espoirs, ses attentes et ses enthousiasmes, mais aussi de ses petitesses, ses pesanteurs, ses désespoirs, ses désinvoltures ainsi que ses laxismes. Il n’y a pas que Green Connexion qui se soit entièrement identifié à ce thème.

L’équipe de Green Connexion posant avec le Directeur et quelques membres de WWF Cameroon. @WWF website 2018.

Le 22 mai 2018, plus d’une cinquantaine de membres de Green Connexion ont été mobilisée pour aller fêter chez les plus grands, les rencontrer, partager leur expérience sur la biodiversité et discuter de l’avenir du monde. Le CIFOR (Center for International Forestry Research) et WWF (World Wildlife Fund) leur ont ainsi fait l’honneur. Et la fête était belle et conviviale.

L’équipe de Green Connexion posant avec le staff du CIFOR. @greenconnexion photos. 2018.

Les 23 et 24 Mai 2018, Lors de la célébration en différé de la dite journée organisée par le Ministère Camerounais de l’Environnement et le Protection de la Nature, Green Connexion a partagé publiquement le stand      avec l’UICN. En effet, ce dernier avait choisi Green Connexion comme membre modèle de la collaboration fructueuse qu’il entretient avec ses membres.

Finalement , Green Connexion et la célébration de la journée internationale de la biodiversité 2018 : Comme un fruit mûre ? Que non ! Plutôt comme un fruit mûrissant.

Equipe conjointe UICN-Green Connexion posant devant le stand commun (23 Mai 2018). De gauche à droite : Eugène Messina (Chef de station Radio Environnement, UICN) , Suzanne Kamgue (UICN) ; Mireil Tchoupou Votio (Green Connexion) ; Forbi Preacious Awin (Green Connexion) and Ghogue Jean-Paul (Directeur de Green Connexion). Photo@UICN photos. 2018.

Par Jean-Paul Ghogue

Director – Green Connexion.

 

 

 

 

 

@Green Connexion 2018.


Téléchargez cet article: Green Connexion et la célébration de la journée internationale de la biodiversité 2018 : Comme un fruit mûre ?

Green Connexion et la journée internationale de la biodiversité 2018

 

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply