Green Connexion, IUCN and the COP 14

Green Connexion, IUCN and the COP 14

Between Green Connexion and IUCN there is a long love story. Already in 2008, it was under the guidance of IUCN that, as an independent consultant, Green Connection’s future founder, Dr GHOGUE Jean-Paul, conducted the assessment of the conservation status of freshwater plants of Central Africa. This work, which was evaluated and published in the 2009 IUCN Red List, was directly commissioned and controlled by the IUCN’s Freshwater Biodiversity Unit (https://www.iucnredlist.org/ ). At the end of this work, the author publishes a paper that summarizes in a way all that is currently known about freshwater plants in the sub-region (Ghogue, 2011).

Partial view of an IUCN working session at COP 14 with the participation of Green Connexion. Sharm el Sheikh (Egypt), November 22, 2018. Photo @ greenconnexion2018.

Green Connexion was born in 2011 when its founder was already a member of the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC); and the same founder, Dr. GHOGUE, is now a founding member of the Freshwater Plants Experts Group and responsible for Africa of the Podostemaceae Subgroup, both of IUCN.

Green Connexion as an organization officially became a member of IUCN on November 21st, 2018 and is committed to supporting the IUCN Mission, which is to influence, encourage and assist companies around the world to conserve the integrity and diversity of nature and ensure that any use of natural resources is equitable and ecologically sustainable.

In fact, Green Connexion and IUCN share the same vision of awareness and, above all, action in the service of biodiversity. As such, the two organizations have so far conducted many joint actions (roundtables, interviews, educational meetings, exhibitions and even implementation of joint projects).

IUCN Banner at COP 14. Photo @ greenconnexion, 22 November 2018.

It is with this background and kinship that the two organizations, Green Connexion and IUCN, arrive in Sharm El Sheikh for COP 14 in November 2018, where Green Connexion participated in most of the daily meetings of adjustment and orientation, organized by the IUCN Focal Point for the IUCN’s delegates and members.

Reference.

Ghogue J.-P. (2011). The status and distribution of freshwater plants in Central Africa. In Brooks E.G.E., Allen D.J. and Darwall W.R.T. The status and distribution of freshwater biodiversity in Central Africa. Redlist. 92 – 109.

Posted by Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, Coordinator of Green Connexion, Sharm El Sheikh, November 25, 2018.

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply

Green Connexion, l’UICN et la COP 14

Green Connexion, l’UICN et la COP 14

Entre Green Connexion et l’UICN existe une longue histoire d’amour. Déjà en 2008, c’est sous la férule de l’UICN qu’en consultant indépendant, le futur fondateur de Green Connexion, Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, effectue l’évaluation du statut de conservation des plantes aquatiques d’eau douce en Afrique Centrale. Ce travail, qui est évalué et publié dans la liste rouge de l’UICN en 2009, est directement commandé et contrôlé par l’Unité pour la biodiversité aquatique d’eau douce de l’UICN (https://www.iucnredlist.org/ ). A l’issue de ce travail, l’auteur publie un papier qui résume en quelque sorte tout ce qui est actuellement connu sur les plantes aquatiques d’eau douce dans la sous-région (Ghogue, 2011).

Vue partielle d’une séance de travail de l’UICN à la COP 14 avec la participation de Green Connexion. Sharm el Sheikh (Egypte), 22 novembre 2018. Photo@greenconnexion2018.

Green Connexion nait donc en 2011 alors que son fondateur est déjà membre de la Commission pour la Survie des Espèces (CSE) de l’UICN ; et le même fondateur, Dr GHOGUE, est aujourd’hui membre fondateur du Groupe des Experts des Plantes Aquatiques d’eau douce et responsable pour l’Afrique du Sous-groupe Podostemaceae, tous deux de l’UICN.

Green Connexion en tant qu’organisation devient officiellement membre de l’UICN le 21 novembre 2018 et s’engage à apporter son soutien à la Mission de l’UICN, qui est d’influencer, encourager et assister les sociétés à travers le monde pour conserver l’intégrité et la diversité de la nature et assurer que toute utilisation des ressources naturelles est équitable et écologiquement soutenable.

En fait Green Connexion et l’UICN partagent la même vision de sensibilisation et surtout d’action au service de la biodiversité. A ce titre, les deux organisations ont mené à ce jour beaucoup d’actions communes (tables rondes, entrevues, rencontres éducatives, expositions et même mise en œuvre des projets communs).

Bannière de l’UICN à la COP 14. Photo@greenconnexion, 22 novembre 2018.

C’est fort de ce background et de ce lien de parenté que les deux organisations, Green Connexion et l’UICN, arrivent à Sharm El Sheikh pour la COP 14 en ce novembre 2018, où Green Connexion a participé à la plupart des réunions quotidiennes de mise au point, d’ajustement et d’orientation organisées par le point focal de l’UICN avec ses déléguées et ses membres.

Référence.

Ghogue J.-P. (2011). The status and distribution of freshwater plants in Central Africa. In Brooks E.G.E., Allen D.J. and Darwall W.R.T. The status and distribution of freshwater biodiversity in Central Africa. Redlist. 92 – 109.

 

Publié par Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, Coordinateur de Green Connexion, Sharm El Sheikh, 25 novembre 2018.

 

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply