Green Connexion, observer of the COP 14

Green Connexion, observer of the COP 14

As report.

Flags of signatory CBD countries floating on Sharm El Sheikh. November 26, 2018. Photo @ greenconnexion 2018.

The summit of universality

This Thursday, November 29, 2018 will end in Sharm El Sheikh in Egypt, the fourteenth biodiversity Conference Of Parties (COP 14). The theme of the conference this year was “Investing in Biodiversity for People and Planet”. Conference of the Parties? Yes, but not only. The nearly 3000 participants in the conference this year, from all over the world, are made up of the parties (so far 168 signatories of the Convention on Biological Diversity and 196 parties), observers, representatives of IGOs, NGOs , renowned scientists, civil society figures, public figures, politicians, journalists, etc.

Biodiversity is at the center of the meeting. Still, the conference of the parties is a good excuse that allows to gather for two weeks all the peoples of the world at the same place on the earth, to give them the opportunity to work together on the feasibility of a common goal. The Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD), because of its essential and existential character for humans, is one of the biggest initiatives of the United Nations in the last 25 years. Beyond its ultimate goal of protecting, conserving and even restoring biodiversity, the Sharm El Sheikh Summit is finally a summit celebrating universality.

Emblem of the city of Sharm El Sheikh. Photo @ greenconnexion, November 2018

Careful preparation

When the Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sissi comes to inaugurate the launching of COP 14 activities on November 17, 2018, the observer that we are has the impression, founded or not, that his country is preparing this moment for a dozen years. In fact, the preparations seem to have been settled in the smallest details:

– The city of the conference

Egypt chooses the city of the conference on purpose. Indeed, next to its strategic position since nestled between the desert of the Sinai Peninsula and the Red Sea, Sharm el-Sheikh is a seaside town. It is famous for its secluded sandy beaches, clear waters and coral reefs. It is a strongly touristy city where many hotel formations sport up to 700 rooms.

Location of the city of Sharm El Sheikh (red bubble), open to the Red Sea.

 

– An appropriate environment

Opened at the beginning of 2006, the International Congress Center of Jolie Ville in Sharm El Sheikh is built to host large international meetings and it is appropriate to organize the COP 14. This center is remarkable for its facilities, especially a “Summit Room” with an area of 2200 square meters, more than 11 meeting rooms with an area ranging from 140 to 800 square meters, 6 VIP meeting rooms with an area of 55 square meters, cabins d modern audiovisual installations and an advanced lighting system. The entrance is 240 m2 and is equipped with a registration area. It is in this center that other international meetings such as the World Economic Forum and the International Youth Forum have been held.

– Security at the height of the event

The security of the COP 14 is ostensible or unobtrusive, ubiquitous, and even shocking. In addition to more than 100 armed UN peacekeepers in United Nations uniforms, plainclothes or uniformed, but still armed, hooded snipers provide uncompromising security. The reality is that we do not receive more than 196 delegations from virtually every five continents, like one would receive a neighbor during a courtesy visit. In addition, prominent Egyptian political figures came to the COP 14 meeting, namely the President of the Republic of Egypt and the Governor of South Sinai, which alone could justify a greater security effort. . However, we are in Sharm El Sheikh, and it is still fresh in memory that famous night of 22 – 23 July 2005, Egyptian National Day, where a series of seven almost simultaneous explosions made 88 dead and more than 200 wounded. Rather than being criticized, well thought out, faced with the same situation, this example deserves to be copied rather.

Main entrance of the International Congress Center of Jolie Ville (Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt). Photo @ greenconnexion, 11-2018.

– A commendable effort

There is no perfect organization. However, we can say that Egypt’s effort in organizing the COP 14 can be appreciated. Although coastal, Sharm El Sheikh is not a particularly wet city, and even the visible sand dunes and bare lateritic domes extend to infinity. Yet, a stranger can easily appreciate the human efforts that have been provided recently to make the city more welcoming.

By organization, we refer to the introduction of the invitations in time, the diplomatic facilitation of obtaining visas, the organization of travel and accommodation, the reception of participants, transport etc. There is also a very important effort in social communication. Indeed, all the streets of Sharm El Sheikh as well as any corner of the International Congress Center of Jolie Ville are emblazoned with the signs of the COP 14. Plenaries and side events are organized with care.

A plenary session of COP 14 in the Summit Room. Photo @ greenconnexion, November 2018.

The conference itself

The thirty items on the agenda have been executed. Of those entrusted to working groups, many have already been discussed in plenary, corrected and then adopted. The various reports produced as a result of these treatments are online at https://www.cbd.int/conferences/2018/cop-14/documents. As we close this paper, some points are still under discussion in plenary, but as was often the case at this conference, consensus will always be found and final resolutions adopted.

There is no perfect work

COP 14 held the promise of flowers. However, some gray areas need to be identified to help improve the future.

– Too much secret

Maybe it was for security reasons mentioned above? The truth is that no one knows in which room the Sharm El Sheikh congress will be held until the day of the congress itself, and the program communicated in advance is simply indicative.

Street dressed with COP 14 flags. Photo @ Greenconnexion, November 2018.

– No money for the poor

It is difficult to speak on behalf of the whole world, however we can recognize that the non-governmental organizations sitting as observers or not, invited to the COP 14 participated on their own funds, regardless of their age or their geographical belonging. We take this opportunity to remind the international opinion that, sometimes among the most active in the protection and conservation of biodiversity, most young non-governmental organizations or serving in developing countries have relatively low resources. Yet, concretely, their action in the field of conservation sometimes goes beyond the effort of the states themselves. This is the place here for us to appeal for financial support of these organizations for their upcoming participation in the Conference of the Parties. NGOs of African descent have done their best to participate in COP 14 in Egypt, and very often with only one member to represent them. Will they be able to attend the COP15 in China?

And as COP 14 comes to an end, we sincerely believe that the Egyptian flag can float even more proudly in the sky than before, until we all meet again in China for COP 15 in 2020.

Some buses allocated to transport delegates to COP 14. Photo @ greenconnexion. November 2018.

 

The Egyptian flag proudly floating on Sharm El Sheikh. Photo @ greenconnexion, November 2018.

 

This paper is written from Sharm El Sheikh by Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, Green Connection Coordinator. November 27, 2018.

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply

Green Connexion, observateur de la COP 14

Green Connexion, observateur de la COP 14

En guise de rapport.

Drapeaux des pays signataires de la CDB flottant sur Sharm El Sheikh. 26 novembre 2018. Photo@greenconnexion 2018.

Le sommet de l’universalité

Ce jeudi 29 Novembre 2018 s’achèvera à Sharm El Sheikh en Egypte, la quatorzième conférence des

Parties sur la biodiversité (COP 14). Le thème de la conférence cette année était « Investir dans la biodiversité pour les hommes et la planète ». Conférence des Parties ? Oui, mais pas que. Les près de 3000 participants à la conférence cette année, venus de tout le monde entier, sont constitués des parties (à ce jour 168 signataires de la convention sur la diversité biologique et 196 parties), des observateurs, des représentants des OIG, des ONG, des scientifiques de renom, des personnalités de la société civile, des personnalités publiques, des politiques, des journalistes etc.

La biodiversité est au centre de la rencontre, mais n’empêche, la conférence des parties est un bon prétexte qui permet de regrouper pendant deux semaines tous les peuples du monde à un même endroit de la terre, afin de leur donner la possibilité de travailler ensemble sur la faisabilité d’un objectif commun. La Convention sur la Diversité Biologique  (CDB), à cause de son caractère essentiel et existentiel pour l’homme, est l’une des plus grandes initiatives des nations unies ces 25 dernières années. Par-delà son objectif qui en définitive est la protection, la conservation et même la restauration de la biodiversité, le sommet de Sharm El Sheikh se présente finalement comme un sommet célébrant l’universalité.

Emblême de la ville de Sharm El Sheikh. Photo@greenconnexion, novembre 2018

Une préparation minutieuse

Quand le président Egyptien Abdel Fattah al-Sissi vient inaugurer le lancement des activités de la COP 14 ce 17 novembre 2018, l’observateur que nous sommes a l’impression, fondée ou non, que son pays prépare ce moment depuis une dizaine d’années, tant les préparatifs paraissent avoir été réglés dans les moindres détails :

– La ville de la conférence

L’Egypte choisit la ville de la conférence bien à dessein. En effet, à côté de sa position stratégique puisque nichée entre le désert de la péninsule du Sinaï et la mer Rouge, Sharm el-Cheikh est une ville balnéaire. Elle est réputée pour ses plages de sable à l’abri des regards, ses eaux claires et ses récifs de corail. C’est une ville fortement touristique où beaucoup de formations hôtelières arborent jusqu’à 700 chambres.

Localisation de la ville de Sharm El Sheikh (bulle rouge), ouverte sur la mer rouge.

– Un cadre approprié

Ouvert en début 2006, le Centre international de Congrès de Jolie Ville à Sharm El Sheikh est construit pour accueillir les grandes réunions internationales et c’est bien à propos qu’y est organisée la COP 14. Ce centre  est remarquable pour ses installations, notamment un « Summit Room » d’une superficie de 2200 mètres carrés, Plus de 11 salles de réunion d’une superficie allant de 140 à 800 mètres carrés, 6 salles de réunion VIP d’une superficie de 55 mètres carrés, des cabines d’interprétation, des Installations audiovisuelles modernes et un système d’éclairage avancé. L’entrée est de 240 m2 et est équipée d’une zone d’enregistrement. C’est dans ce centre que se sont tenues les autres réunions internationales telles que le Forum économique mondial et le Forum international de la jeunesse.

– Une sécurité à la hauteur de l’évènement

La sécurité de la COP 14 est ostensible ou discrète, omniprésente, et même choquante. A côté de plus d’une centaine de casques bleus armés et en uniformes des nations unies, policiers en civils tirés à quatre épingles ou en uniformes, mais toujours armés, tireurs d’élites encagoulés, assurent une sécurité sans complaisance. La réalité c’est qu’on ne reçoit pas plus de 196 délégations venues de pratiquement tous les cinq continents comme qui recevrait son voisin lors d’une visite de courtoisie. De plus, de grandes personnalités politiques égyptiennes sont venues à la réunion de la COP 14, en l’occurrence le président de la République Egyptienne ainsi que le gouverneur du Sud Sinai, choses qui elles seules pouvaient justifier d’un effort de sécurité plus important. Toutefois, on est à Sharm El Sheikh, et on a encore frais dans la mémoire cette fameuse nuit du 22 – 23 juillet 2005, jour de la fête nationale égyptienne, où une série de sept explosions presque simultanées font 88 morts et plus de 200 blessés. Plutôt que d’être critiqué, bien réfléchi, face à la même situation, cet exemple mériterait plutôt d’être copié.

Entrée principale du Centre International de Congrès de Jolie Ville (Sharm El Sheikh, Egypte). Photo@greenconnexion, 11-2018.

– Un effort louable

Il n’y a pas d’organisation parfaite. Toutefois, nous pouvons affirmer que l’effort de l’Egypte dans l’organisation de la COP 14 peut être apprécié à sa juste valeur. Quoique côtière, Sharm El Sheikh n’est pas une ville particulièrement humide, et même que les dunes de sables visibles et des dômes latéritiques dénudés s’étendent à l’infini. Pourtant, un étranger peut facilement apprécier les efforts humains qui ont été fournis récemment pour rendre la ville plus accueillante.

Par organisation, nous faisons référence à l’introduction des invitations à temps, à la facilitation diplomatique de l’obtention des visas, à l’organisation des voyages et des hébergements, à l’accueil des participants, au transport etc. On note aussi un effort très important dans la communication sociale. En effet, toutes les rues de Sharm El Sheikh ainsi que le moindre recoin du Centre International du Congrès de Jolie Ville sont pavoisés aux enseignes de la COP 14. Les plénières et les évènements parallèles sont organisés avec soin.

Une plénière de la COP 14 dans le Summit Room. Photo@greenconnexion, novembre 2018.

La conférence proprement dite

Les trente points inscrits à l’ordre du jour ont été exécutés. Parmi ceux confiés à des groupes de travail, beaucoup ont déjà été discuté en plénière, corrigés, puis adoptés. Les différents rapports produits à l’issue de ces traitements sont en ligne à https://www.cbd.int/conferences/2018/cop-14/documents . A l’heure où nous bouclons ce papier, certains points sont toujours en discussion en plénière, mais comme cela a souvent été le cas lors de cette conférence, le consensus sera toujours trouvé et les résolutions finales adoptées.

Il n’y a pas d’œuvre parfaite

La COP 14 a tenu toute la promesse des fleurs. Cependant, quelques zones d’ombre nécessitent d’être relevées afin que cela aide à améliorer le futur.

– Un secret à fleur de peau

Peut-être était-ce pour des raisons de sécurité évoquées plus haut ? La vérité est que personne ne sait dans quelle salle se tiendra le congrès de Sharm El Sheikh avant le jour du congrès lui-même, et le programme communiqué à l’avance est tout simplement indicatif.

Rue pavoisée aux annonces de la COP 14. Photo@Greenconnexion, novembre 2018.

Quelques autobus alloués au transport des délégués à la COP 14. Photo@greenconnexion. Novembre 2018.

Le drapeau Egyptien flottant fièrement sur Sharm El Sheikh. Photo@greenconnexion,novembre 2018.

 

Ce papier est rédigé depuis Sharm El Sheikh par Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, coordonnateur Green Connexion. 27 Novembre 2018.

 

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply