Green Connexion participates in COP 14

Green Connexion participates in COP 14

A view of the sign of the conference in Sharm El Sheikh. @greenconnexion. November 17th, 2018.

Green Connexion was honored this year by being invited to participate in COP 14 (Fourteenth Conference of the Parties to the United Nations’ Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)), held in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt. 17 – 29 November 2018. The theme of COP 14 is “Investing in Biodiversity for People and the Planet”. By putting people in the center and even in front of the planet, this theme draws attention to the primordial role of the human being in the preservation of his unique space, the planet earth. The earth is indeed our host and our nanny. Although it may have several characteristics (agriculture and small-scale hunting, collection and marketing of products derived from biodiversity, definition of exploitation policies, etc.), investing in biodiversity always has an economic and conservation character. So we do it for ourselves and for the planet that hosts us.

To sit as an observer  

Green Connection sits as Observer. If it cannot participate in the decisions (to take part in the votes), it can attend the meetings, participate in debates and, in this chapter, its long experience in the field biodiversity conservation counts. By inviting Green Connexion and many other Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs) around the world, the United Nations is leveraging all its credibility resources to add value to the global event that is COP 14.

Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, Coordinator of Green Connexion, posing next to the acronym for COP 14 (Sharm El Sheikh, November 17, 2018).

A universal summit

Apart from the objective of developing and maintaining the Convention on Biological Diversity, the approximately 2500 participants at COP 14 come from all over the world. They are represented by the parties (196 to date), observers, NGOs, researchers, industrialists etc. Through the clothing port at the opening, one can witness the impressive diversity that constitutes the world culture in its totality. Another great diversity is expressed through the multitude of parallel events organized and the great variability of individual interests or distinct groups.

Green Connexion and the 25 years of the CBD

Green Connexion is a relatively young organization. It’s created in the years 2011 only. However, to date, it has made its way in the field of conservation. It has already to its credit most of what is known about the conservation of freshwater aquatic plants in Central Africa. As such, it has demonstrated this year the 25th anniversary of the Convention on Biological Diversity with the splendor justified by this enthusiasm that is generally found among the youngest. And the organization is coming to Sharm El Sheikh with a lot of confidence.

 

Some photos

Forward and from left to right: Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul (Coordinator of Green Connexion); His Majesty Senator Lekunze Nembo Andrea (Superior Chief of the Bamumbu Group (SW)); Mohamadou Labarang (Ambassador of Cameroon to Egypt); Mrs. Prudence Galega (CBD Focal Point – Cameroon). @greenconnexion, November 17, 2018.

 

Joyful view at the Cameroon stand in Sharm El Sheikh @ greenconnexion, November 17, 2017.

 

Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, coordinator of Green Connexion, posing with Egyptian artists. @greenconnexion, November 17, 2018.

 

By J.-P. Ghogue, Green Connexion, from Sharm El Sheikh, novembre 19, 2018.

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply

Green Connexion participe à la COP 14

Green Connexion participe à la COP 14

Une vue de l’enseigne de la conférence à Sharm El Sheikh. @greenconnexion. 17 novembre 2018.

Green Connexion a eu l’insigne honneur cette année, d’être invité à participer à la COP 14 (Quatorzième conférence des Parties de la Convention des Nations Unies sur la Diversité Biologique (CDB)), organisée à Sharm El Sheikh (Egypte) du 17 – 29 Novembre 2018. Le thème de la COP 14 était « Investir dans la biodiversité pour les hommes et la planète ». En mettant l’homme au centre et même en avant de la planète, ce thème attire l’attention sur le rôle primordial qui incombe à l’être humain dans la préservation de son espace unique qu’est la planète terre. La terre est en effet notre hôte et notre nourrice. Quoique pouvant revêtir plusieurs caractères (agriculture et chasse ménagée, collecte et commercialisation des produits issus de la biodiversité, définition des politiques d’exploitation etc.), investir dans la biodiversité revêt toujours un caractère économique et de conservation. Nous le faisons donc pour nous même et pour la planète qui nous héberge.

Siéger comme observateur     

Green Connexion siège comme Observateur. S’il ne peut participer aux décisions (prendre part aux votes), il peut assister aux séances, participer à des débats et, sur ce chapitre, sa longue expérience dans le domaine de la conservation de la biodiversité compte. En invitant Green Connexion ainsi que beaucoup d’autres Organisations Non Gouvernementales (ONG) à travers le monde, les Nations Unies misent sur toutes leurs ressources en matière de crédibilité, afin que cela apporte une plus-value à cet évènement planétaire qu’est la COP 14.

Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, Coordonnateur de Green Connexion, posant à côté du sigle de la COP 14 (Sharm El Sheikh, 17 Novembre 2018).

Un sommet universel  

A part l’objectif qui est celui du développement et de l’entretien de la Convention sur la Diversité Biologique, les quelques 2500 participants à la COP 14 viennent de par le monde entier. Ils sont représentés par les parties (196 à ce jour), les observateurs, les ONGs, les Chercheurs, Les Industriels etc. A travers le port vestimentaire à l’ouverture, on peut assister à l’impressionnante diversité qui constitue la culture mondiale dans sa totalité. Une autre grande diversité s’exprime à travers la multitude d’évènements parallèles organisés et la très grande variabilité des intérêts individuels ou de groupes distincts.

Green Connexion et les 25 ans de la CDB      

Green Connexion est une organisation relativement jeune. Elle ne voit le jour qu’en 2011. Cependant, à ce jour,  elle a fait son petit bonhomme de chemin dans le domaine de la conservation. Elle a déjà à son actif la plupart de tout ce qui est connu au sujet de la conservation des plantes aquatiques d’eau douce en Afrique Centrale. A ce titre, elle a manifesté cette année les 25 ans de la Convention sur le Diversité Biologique avec le faste justifié par cet enthousiasme qu’on retrouve généralement chez les plus jeunes. Et l’organisation débouche à Sharm El Sheikh avec beaucoup d’assurance.

Quelques photos

En avant plant et de gauche à droite : Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul (Coordonnateur de Green Connexion) ; Sa Majesté Sénateur Lekunze Nembo Andrea (Chef Supérieur du Groupement Bamumbu (SW)) ; Mohamadou Labarang (Ambassadeur du Cameroun en Egypte) ; Mme Prudence Galega (Point focal CDB – Cameroun). @greenconnexion, 17 novembre 2018.

 

Vue joyeuse au stand du Cameroun à Sharm El Sheikh.@greenconnexion, 17 novembre 2017.

 

Dr. GHOGUE Jean-Paul, coordonnateur de Green Connexion, posant avec des artistes Egyptiens. @greenconnexion, 17 Novembre 2018.

 

Par J.-P. Ghogue, Green Connexion, depuis Sharm El Sheikh, 19 novembre 2018.

About the Author

Green Connexion administrator

Leave a Reply